Our commitment to strategic metals

Strategic metals to complement the portfolio

In the Metals sector, the Group has two subsidiaries and a very important stake in the Canadian company Almonty Industries.

Almonty, in which Deutsche Rohstoff holds a stake of about 12.8%, is an established producer of the highly coveted metal tungsten. Due to its density and hardness, it is used for alloys in many cases. It is indispensable for many high-tech products. Almonty has an outstanding position in this field and is increasingly developing into the most important tungsten producer outside of China.

Almonty is currently mining at the Panasqueira mine in Portugal. The South Korean Sangdong project is currently in the development phase and will supply significant quantities of tungsten at very favorable production costs when commissioned.
Furthermore, Deutsche Rohstoff holds a majority stake in Tin International AG.

Tin International has acquired shares in internationally active resource companies through the sale of projects in the Saxonian Ore Mountains. The Australian shareholding Lithium Australia develops innovative technologies for sustainable extraction of lithium and other battery metals.

Location of Deutsche Rohstoff's metal Projects

Dr. Thomas Gutschlag, CEO

ZitatportraitTG

Thomas Gutschlag • Mannheim • February 2020

Strategic metals complement our portfolio

We expect Almonty Industries to achieve a high increase in value. Almonty is in the process of developing itself as one of the most important producers of tungsten and is advancing the commissioning of the important Sangdong Mine in South Korea.

Almonty Industries's Tungsten Mine in Los Santos, Spain
LosSantos Pano2500px

Almonty Industries, specialist in tungsten

Almonty's Tungsten Plant in Los Santos, Spain
LosSantos

Almonty Industries is a Canadian company whose shares are traded in the main segment of the Toronto Stock Exchange (TSX). The company is active in tungsten mining. It operates mines in Spain and Portugal and has development projects in Spain and South Korea.

Deutsche Rohstoff AG holds 12.8% of the share capital. This makes us the third largest shareholder in the company.

Tungsten is used for a variety of industrial products due to its high density and the highest melting point of all elements. Most important is the production of tungsten carbide for carbide tools. But the density and heat resistance of the metal is also used in many high-tech applications, including aircraft manufacturing, medical technology and modern lighting technology. The German government classifies tungsten in the group of metals with the highest supply risk.

Almonty is one of the few companies outside of China that produce significant quantities of tungsten concentrates. The Panasqueira Mine in Portugal has been producing continuously since 1896 and has an extremely experienced technical management team. The mine produces very high quality tungsten concentrates, as well as tin and copper as by-products.

Alomty's Sangdong Mine in South Korea

The Sangdong Mine of Almonty in South Korea has a special significance for Almonty. It is the world’s largest reserve of tungsten with the highest contents. The mine was in operation for many decades before it was closed in 1982. Almonty began developing the mine after the takeover in 2015. In February 2020, the company announced that it had received a binding commitment for project financing from the KfW-IPEX Bank, based in Frankfurt. Almonty plans to sell tungsten concentrates from the mine in approximately two years.

The main customer for the concentrates will be the US company Global Tungsten and Powders (GTP). GTP and Almonty have concluded a purchase agreement with a term of 15 years, which provides for a lower price limit but no upper limit. Almonty can thus calculate for a long period of time with a secured price level. GTP belongs to the Austrian Plansee Group, which has a strong position in the global tungsten market.

Deutsche Rohstoff supports Almonty in order to achieve the goal of creating the largest tungsten producer outside of China. With the Sangdong mine, the company has the world’s best tungsten resource and an experienced technical team. The government in Korea as well as the local authorities and organizations support the project to the best of their ability. We are convinced that the successful development of the mine will significantly increase the value of our investment.

The Sangdong Mine is Almonty's most important project
Almonty-southKorea

Engagement in strategische Metalle

Strategische Metalle als Ergänzung des Portfolios

Im Geschäftsfeld Metalle verfügt der Konzern über zwei Tochtergesellschaften und die wichtige Beteiligung an der kanadischen Almonty Industries.

Almonty, an der die Deutsche Rohstoff zu etwa 12,8% beteiligt ist, ist ein etablierter Produzent des begehrten Metalls Wolfram. Durch seine Dichte und seine Härte wird es in vielen Fällen für Legierungen genutzt. Es ist unverzichtbar für viele High-Tech Produkte. Almonty nimmt dabei eine herausragende Stellung ein und entwickelt sich immer mehr zum wichtigsten Wolframproduzenten außerhalb Chinas.

Derzeit fördert Almonty in der Panasqueira-Mine in Portugal. Das südkoreanische Sangdong Projekt befindet sich in der Entwicklungsphase und wird bei Inbetriebnahme bedeutende Mengen Wolfram zu sehr günstigen Produktionskosten liefern.

Darüber hinaus ist die Deutsche Rohstoff mehrheitlich an der Tin International AG beteiligt.

Tin International hält durch den Verkauf von Projekten im sächsischen Erzgebirge Anteile an international tätigen Rohstoffunternehmen. Die australische Beteiligung Lithium Australia entwickelt dabei innovative Technologien zur nachhaltigen Extraktion von Lithium und anderen Batteriemetallen.

Lokationen der Metallbeteiligungen der Deutsche Rohstoff

Dr. Thomas Gutschlag, CEO

ZitatportraitTG

Thomas Gutschlag • Mannheim • February 2020

Die strategischen Metalle ergänzen unser Portfolio

Wir erwarten uns von Almonty Industries eine hohe Wertsteigerung. Almonty ist dabei, sich zu einem der bedeutendsten Produzenten von Wolfram zu entwickeln und treibt die Inbetriebnahme der wichtigen Sangdong Mine in Südkorea voran.

Wolfram Mine von Almonty Industries in Los Santos, Spanien
LosSantos Pano2500px

Almonty Industries, Spezialist in Sachen Wolfram

Almonty's Wolfram Aufbereitung in Los Santos, Spanien
Almonty's Wolfram Aufbereitung in Los Santos, Spanien
LosSantos

Almonty Industries ist eine kanadische Gesellschaft, deren Aktien im Hauptsegment der Toronto Stock Exchange (TSX) gehandelt werden. Das Unternehmen ist im Wolfram-Bergbau tätig. Es betreibt Minen in Spanien und Portugal und verfügt über Entwicklungsprojekte in Spanien und Südkorea.

Der Anteil der Deutsche Rohstoff AG am Grundkapital beläuft sich auf 12,8%. Wir sind damit der drittgrößte Aktionär der Gesellschaft.

Wolfram wird aufgrund seiner hohen Dichte und dem höchsten Schmelzpunkt aller Elemente für eine Vielzahl von industriellen Produkten verwendet. Am wichtigsten ist die Herstellung von Wolframcarbid für Hartmetall-Werkzeuge. Aber auch in vielen High-Tech-Anwendungen macht man sich die Dichte und Hitzebeständigkeit des Metalls zu Nutze, unter anderem in der Flugzeugherstellung, Medizintechnik und modernen Lichttechnik. Die Bundesregierung stuft Wolfram in die Gruppe der Metalle mit dem höchsten Lieferrisiko ein.

Almonty gehört zu den wenigen Unternehmen außerhalb Chinas, die nenneswerte Mengen an Wolframkonzentraten herstellen. Die Panasqueira Mine in Portugal produziert praktisch ununterbrochen bereits seit 1896. Sie verfügt über ein außerordentlich erfahrenes technisches Leitungsteam. Die Mine produziert sehr hochwertige Wolframkonzentrate, darüber hinaus auch Zinn und Kupfer als Beiprodukte.

Almonty's Sangdong Mine in Südkorea

Die Sangdong Mine von Almonty in Südkorea besitzt eine besondere Bedeutung für Almonty. Es handelt sich um die weltweit größte Reserve an Wolfram mit gleichzeitig den höchsten Gehalten. Die Mine war über viele Jahrzehnte im Abbau, bevor sie 1982 geschlossen wurde. Almonty begann nach der Übernahme 2015 mit der Entwicklung der Mine. Im Februar 2020 gab das Unternehmen bekannt, dass es eine verbindliche Zusage für die Projektfinanzierung durch die KfW-IPEX Bank mit Sitz in Frankfurt erhalten hat. Almonty plant, bereits in ca. zwei Jahren Wolframkonzentrate aus der Mine zu verkaufen.

Wesentlicher Abnehmer der Konzentrate wird die US-amerikanische Firma Global Tungsten and Powders (GTP) sein. GTP und Almonty haben einen Abnahmevertrag mit einer Laufzeit von 15 Jahren geschlossen, der eine Preisuntergrenze, aber keine Obergrenze vorsieht. Almonty kann damit für einen langen Zeitraum mit einem gesicherten Preisniveau kalkulieren. GTP gehört zur österreichischen Plansee-Gruppe, die über eine starke Stellung im weltweiten Wolfram-Markt verfügt.

Die Deutsche Rohstoff unterstützt Almonty, um das Ziel zu erreichen, den größten Wolfram-Produzenten außerhalb Chinas zu schaffen. Das Unternehmen verfügt mit der Sangdong-Mine über die weltweit beste Wolfram-Ressource und über ein erfahrenes technisches Team. Die Regierung in Korea wie auch die lokalen Behörden und Organisationen unterstützen das Projekt nach Kräften. Wir sind überzeugt, dass die erfolgreiche Entwicklung der Mine eine erhebliche Werterhöhung unseres Investments bringen wird.

Die Sangdong Mine ist Almonty's wichtgstes Projekt
Die Sangdong Mine ist Almonty's wichtgstes Projekt
Almonty-southKorea

Weitere interessante Artikel